‘Cue Review: Lexington Barbecue #1, Lexington, NC

I have noticed that the people in North Carolina can get pretty picky about their barbecue.  They distinguish between traditional eastern North Carolina barbecue and what they call Lexington-style barbecue.  The easiest way to explain the difference is that eastern NC style has a vinegar sauce with no tomato, while the Lexington style would typically add tomato.  As you might expect, Lexington, NC is the home of Lexington-style, and Lexington Barbecue #1 is its holiest place.

Lexington #1 had long been on my list on barbecue joints to try, as I have read about it and seen on television several times.   Knowing my time in North Carolina was coming to an end (more on that later), I thought that it would not happen.  Luckily, Mrs. BBQisNotaVerb and I decided to take a trip to the Atlanta area to visit her parents, and Lexington was conveniently on the route.  In order to get to the restaurant, we had to take a slight detour onto Business I-85.  Both my TomTom and Google Maps took us to the wrong place, but a quick call to Lexington #1 gave us directions.  As it turns out, the restaurant is literally on an exit off of Business I-85.

The restaurant is housed in a large white building that is somewhat reminiscent of a barn, but most great barbecue joints don’t look too great from the outside.  That is not what matters, and I don’t trust ones that do.  When we walked inside, we found a counter with old-fashioned stools in the front room, and two other rooms for dining areas behind that.  We took a seat in a booth and picked up the menu.  It is pretty straightforward, without a lot to be confused by.  We both ordered a tray, which is just barbecue and slaw.  The barbecue was, quite simply, excellent.  Rarely, if ever, have I had better.  It was moist and had a great smokey flavor.  The sauce was a little spicy and just okay, and the slaw was a brown color and had way too much vinegar for my tastes.  But oh man, the barbecue.  Absolutely worth the minor deviation from our route.  I even ordered a couple of pounds to go, and my feelings were confirmed by my in-laws.  If you ever get the chance to stop in, do it.

 

This entry was posted in 'Cue Review. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to ‘Cue Review: Lexington Barbecue #1, Lexington, NC

  1. Eddie Yates says:

    Awesome place to work and eat!!! For me, it’s comfort food!!

  2. burt says:

    would have been if you had added a map showing the actual location for us.

  3. burt says:

    For other travelers. The GPS co’ords for Lexington BBQ are N 35° 50.034 W 080° 16.058
    This will take you right to their parking lot.

Leave a Reply

